Detailsof Wilco’s forthcoming Live DVD entitled Ashes of American Flags have started to come forth in the past several weeks creating quite a buzz amongst fans. The DVD is produced and directed by Christopher Green & Brendan Canty (Fugazi) with the set list being culled from 5 stops on the bands 2008 tour: Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa, Tipitina’s in New Orleans, Mobile Civic Center in Mobile, The Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, and the 9:30 club in Washington DC.  The DVD will give fans a chance not only to view the band in their own homes for the first time on an official live release it will also give them a glimpse into the bands road life. Interviews will be conducted with band members on the tour bus, backstage, and in the cities the band is performing in.

Fan’s won’t have long to wait as the limited release date is set to coincide with National Record Store Day on Saturday April 18th and will be distributed at local participating record stores around the country. The band has always been supporters of independent stores and see the need to support them now more then ever.  Jeff Tweedy the band’s front man noted:

“My introduction to a lot of great music and to the ‘music business’ came from hanging around and eventually working at independent record stores in Belleville, IL, and St. Louis many years back,” said Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy. “It’s the life I know. Nothing beats browsing in your favorite store, listening to music, finding something new or old that you’ve been searching for, being ignored by the store clerks, all that. And without these stores, there’s just no way Wilcowould still be around. They’ve been withus from the very beginning, through thick and thin. Even if I wasn’t in a band, I’d still support Record Store Day. It’s a great thing and I’m glad we could do something special with them.”

You can visit the Record Store Day website for information on a location near you that will be participating in the days events. Those without a store near them will be able to purchase the DVD after it’s wide release date of April 28th.

The track list for the DVD will feature songs from five of Wilco’s six albums with AM their first album being the lone release without any representation on the DVD. The set list is as follows:

1 Ashes of American Flags
2 Side with the Seeds
3 Handshake Drugs
4 The Late Greats
5 Kingpin
6 Wishful Thinking
7 Impossible Germany
8 Via Chicago
9 A Shot in the Arm
10 Monday
11 You Are My Face
12 Heavy Metal Drummer
13 War on War

Here is the official trailer for the DVD:


Needless to say I’m very excited about this. I’ll be making a trip out to my local brick and mortar store on April 18th to pick this one up. I think the set list is a great representation of the band of course I would have liked more songs from a band that typically plays about a two hour set, but I’m sure the interviews and footage will be interesting. It is going to be great for them to capture the band at this point in their career. One can’t help but think they are at their peak musically now with the lineup they have now. I’m particularly fond of Nels Cline’s contributions to the bands sound on new and older material.

In other Wilco news fans should also begin salivating about the yet unnamed album being released later this summer. Rumor has it the “Wilco Song” which debuted last year will make an appearance on the album. Also, the band will do what they do best: TOUR. I have every plan to be there when they do. This is a band that truely comes to life live and now they have a DVD to show the world.

No related posts.